VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

P. O. Box 526 Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526

APPLICATION FOR VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE

to sell, distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use.

The annual business license fee is \$50.00. Please make check payable to: **Treasurer of Virginia. Mail (1) application**, **(2) check**, and **(3) evidence of financial responsibility to the above address.**

Licenses expire on March 31 each year. Licenses renewed after March 31 each year are subject to a 20 percent late fee.

Please type or print the following information:		
LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS:		
TRADING AS:		
FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:		
MAILING ADDRESS:		CITY:
COUNTY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:
NAME OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE:		
TITLE:	_ BUSINESS PHONE N	O
I certify that I understand my legal responsibilities for pesticides, and that if I sell pesticides, I will sell restapplicators certificate, or to their representative.	or the use, supervision of tricted use pesticides only	use, sale, distribution, or storage of or to individuals who possess a valid pesticide
SIGNATURE OF REPRESENTATIVE:		DATE:
This business will engage in the following (CHE	CK ALL THAT APPLY):	
SELLING GENERAL USE PESTICIDES	DISTRIBUTIO	ON APPLYING PESTICIDES
STORAGE	BULK STOR	AGE
RECOMMENDING FOR USE ANY PESTICION	DE*SELLING RE	STRICTED USE PESTICIDES*
*Requires a certified commercial applicator to b	e employed; provide inf	formation below:
Name of Applicator:		Certificate Number:
ATTACH A COPY OF THE LIABILITY INSURANCI	E CERTIFICATE TO THE	APPLICATION
BUSINESS PHYSICAL LOCATION ADDRESS:		
STREET:	Cl	TY:
COUNTY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:
BUSINESS BILLING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT F	ROM ABOVE:	
STREET:	Cl	TY:
COUNTY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:
HOW DID YOU LEARN ABOUT THIS REQUIREM	ENT (CHECK ALL THAT	APPLY):
CALL TO VDACS*EXTENSION	_PESTICIDE SUPPLIER	VDACS* INVESTIGATORRETAIL
*VIRGINIA DEPT OF AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICI	ESVDAC	CS WEB PAGEOTHER
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY:		AMOUNT TO REMIT: \$50.00
Business License No	i i	VDACS ACCT. 757-02-02438
Date Keyed/by:	— <u> </u>	VDACS-07209 2/02

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATION CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
P. O. Box 526 1100 Bank St, Room 401-D
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526 Richmond, VA 23219



In accordance with Section 3.1-249.52 of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made for CERTIFICATION as a Commercial Applicator in Virginia.

The two-year non-refundable certification fee is \$ 70.00. Please make check payable to: **Treasurer of Virginia**. Mail application and check to the above address. **Federal, State, and Local Government employees are exempt from fee.** Certificates expire on June 30.

CERTIFICATE CLASS DES	SIRED (Please check only	one of the following	four classes	of certification listed b	elow):
□ COMMERCIAL □ NOT-FOR-HIRE	(FOR-HIRE) E COMMERCIAL	□ GOVI □ INAC	□ GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE□ INACTIVE (Not Currently Employed)		
Please type or print the fo	llowing information:	E-Mail Address: _			
SOCIAL SECURITY NO.:		HOME F	PHONE NO:		
NAME OF APPLICANT: _	(I - A)	(F :	() () ()		
MAILING ADDRESS: (Stre	(Last) eet or RFD)	(Firs	it) (M.I.) CO	UNTY:	
CITY:			STATE:	ZIP CODE:	
EMPLOYED BY (Company	or agency you work for):_				
VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUS	INESS LICENSE NO.: _		BUSINESS	PHONE NO.:	
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	(Street or RFD)		CO	UNTY:	
CITY:		STATE:	ZIF	, CODE:	
Please check <u>all</u> of the appl Applicator Certification:	ropriate qualifications belo	w by which you are	eligible to ap	ply for a Commercial F	esticide
□ Have at least one ýear of Please give a brief explanat	tion, including dates, of you		ng, and/or ed	ducation:	
I request to be examined fo certification categories listed	r the core exam *** and the	e following category	exams (plea	se refer to the descript	ion of
CATEGORY NO.	CATEGORY TITLE	CATEG	ORY NO.	CATEGORY TI	TLE
(1)		(3)			
(2)		(4)			
*** The core exam is not red	quired for individuals requi	ring certification in c	ategory 5B -	Marine Antifoulant Pai	nts.
I certify that I meet the eligit specific skills necessary to p and regulations governing p	oility requirements for comproperly apply pesticides in esticide usage in Virginia.	mercial certification. In the performance of	I further cer f my job, and	tify that I have been tra	ained in the laws, rules
Signature of Applicant:			Da	ate:	
FOR DEPARTMENT USE O	NLY			APPLICATION FEE VDACS ACCT. 756	
Keyed for LOA:				VDACS-07211	11/01

(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TRAINING/ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS)

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR COMMERCIAL APPLICATION CERTIFICATION

Prior to making application for COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR certification, a prospective applicant must first complete Pesticide Control Board-approved training. Board-approved training consists of, at a minimum, self study and review of all the material contained in the most current edition of the Virginia Pesticide Applicator Certification Training CORE Manual, and other category-specific manuals related to the specific type of work to be performed. (These manuals may be obtained for a nominal fee from the Virginia Tech Extension Division Distribution Center, 112 Landsdowne Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060.)

In order to be eligible to make application for COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR certification, you must first meet <u>at least one of the following requirements</u>:

- 1. Must currently hold a valid Virginia Registered Technician certification, AND must have worked as a Virginia certified Registered Technician for at least one year; OR;
- 2. Must have at least one year of education, training, or experience in a pesticide-related field which provides at least the equivalent practical knowledge of proper pesticide use required of a Registered Technician.

All COMMERCIAL APPLICATORS (with the exception of not-for-hire commercial applicators and government employees) must either obtain, or work for a firm that has obtained, a Virginia Pesticide Business License issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

- 1. Return completed application with payment. (Government employees are fee- exempt.) If you meet the above requirements, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the certification exams.
- 2. Within 90 days of the date of the Notice of Authorization, report to an approved VDACS or DMV testing location to take the written exams. Computerized exams at the DMV Customer Service Centers are scored as you are taking them, and you will be notified of your score as you complete each exam. Written exams taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide Services in Richmond to be scored.
- 3. If you pass the Core and one or more category examinations, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) will notify you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 work days. If you take and pass your exams at one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a temporary certificate good for seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by OPS within seven days.

(END OF FORM)

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR REQUEST FOR AUTHORIZATION TO TAKE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR EXAMINATION

(Do not use for certificate renewal)



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES
P. O. Box 526
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526
Richmond, VA 23219

In accordance with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made to take one or more written examinations for COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR. (SEE BACK FOR DEFINITIONS)

Check reason for requesting examination:

 Retake previous exams not passed (Fee waived for first reference certified in one or more additional pest control can be recertified an expired certificate. Recertify in lieu of attending a recertification course. All fee non-refundable certification fee has already been paid. 	retake of exams.) ategories. (Fees may be prorated. Contact OPS) fees waived if the test is administered prior to August 29 th and the
The two-year non-refundable certification fee is \$70.00. Please mathematical check to the above address. Federal, State, and Local Government	nake check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia . <u>Mail application and the mail application and t</u>
Certificates expire on June 30.	
CERTIFICATE CLASS DESIRED (Please check only one of the fo ☐ COMMERCIAL (FOR-HIRE) ☐ NOT-FOR-HIRE COMMERCIAL	ollowing four classes of certification listed below): ☐ GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE ☐ INACTIVE (Not Currently Employed)
Please type or print the following information:	Mail Address:
SOCIAL SECURITY NO.:	COMMERCIAL CERTIFICATE NO.:
NAME OF APPLICANT: (Last) (First) MAILING ADDRESS: (Street or RFD)	(M I)
MAILING ADDRESS: (Street or PED)	(M.I.) COUNTY:
CITY:	STATE: ZIP CODE:
EMPLOYED BY (Company or agency you work for):	
/A PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE NO.:	BUSINESS PHONE NO.:
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	COUNTY:
OITY:	STATE: ZIP CODE:
request to be examined in the following categories (please renstructions):	efer to the description of certification categories listed in the
CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITLE 1) 2)	CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITLE (3) (4)
Please note: If you are retaking exams and have not yet passed the required to take and pass the Core Exam in addition to any care certify that I have the necessary experience, training and/or educ	the Core Exam, or if you are reinstating an expired certification, you ategory specific exams you may have listed above.) cation to properly apply pesticides in the performance of my job, and
agree to abide by all laws, rules, and regulations governing pestici	ide usage in Virginia.
Signature of Applicant:	Date:
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY Certificate No.	APPLICATION FEE: \$70.00 ADDING A CATEGORY ONLY: \$35.00
Keyed for LOA: by(Date) (Initials)	VDACS ACCT. 756-09-02656

VDACS-07218

11/01

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CATEGORIES

Category <u>Number</u>	Category Title
1-A	Agricultural Plant Pest Control
1-B	Agricultural Animal Pest Control
1-C	Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural Products*
1-D	Agricultural Chemigation
2	Forest Pest Control
3-A	Ornamental Pest Control
3-B	Turf Pest Control
4	Seed Treatment **
5-A	Aquatic Pest Control - General
5-B	Marine Antifoulant Paints
6	Right-Of-Way Pest Control
7-A	General Pest Control (Including Food Processing)**
7-B	Wood Destroying Pest Control**
7-C	Fumigation (non-agricultural)
7-D	Vertebrate Pest Control (excluding structural invaders)**
7-E	Sewer Root Pest Control
8	Public Health Pest Control
9	Regulatory Pest Control
10	Demonstration and Research Pest Control
11	Aerial Pesticide Application ***
12	Wood Preservation and Wood Products Treatment
*	requires concurrent certification in category 1-A
**	excluding fumigation
	certification also required in 1 or more specific categories

Definitions:

Commercial applicator means any applicator who has completed the requirements as determined by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as provided in the definition of private applicator.

Commercial applicator not for hire means any commercial applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or his employer. This definition shall also apply to governmental employees who use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the performance of their official duties.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

APPLICATION FOR NEW PESTICIDE PRODUCT REGISTRATION

In accordance with Sections 3.1-249.30, 3.1-249.35 and 3.1-249.40 of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made for REGISTRATION of the PESTICIDE PRODUCTS listed below.

Please complete this form in its entirety. *The annual product registration fee is \$160.00 for <u>each</u> brand or grade of pesticide. Attach one specimen label and one material safety data sheet for each brand or grade listed. Additional instructions and information for completing this form can be found on the back of this application. Return the completed application, attachments and check payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia" to:*

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services PO Box 526 Richmond, VA 23218-0526

PART 1: TYPE OR PRINT THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION:

A. Registration Submitted By:	
Firm Name:	
Contact Person:	
Address:	
City, State, Zip:	
Phone: () Extens	ion:
Federal Identification Number:	
B. Company Appearing On Label (if different than registrant):	
Name:	
Address:	
City, State, Zip:	
PART 2: LIST EACH BRAND OR GRADE OF PRODUCT TO BE REPAREGISTRATION NO. PRODUCT NAME (as it appears on It. 2. 3. 4.	label) RUP (Yes or No) FEE
Signature of Registrant Title	TOTAL FEES REMITTED \$ Date
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY	
Date Approved: Date Keyed: Keyed B VDACS ACCT. 758-09-02631	y:Registrant #
1 Dried Rec 1. 130-07-02031	VDACS-07208 8/02

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

The Virginia Pesticide Control Act § 301-249.40 requires, before manufacturing, distributing, selling, offering for sale or offering for use, the annual registration of <u>each</u> brand or grade of a pesticide. The annual registration fee is \$160.00 per product.

1. **Definitions**:

- a. <u>Brand</u> any word, name, symbol, device, or any combination thereof, which serves to distinguish a pesticide product manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered for sale by one person from that manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered for sale by any other person.
- b. Grade formulation of a pesticide.

2. Product Registration Requirements:

- a. <u>Brands:</u> Each brand of a pesticide must be registered <u>separately</u> at a fee of \$160.00 per product per year. Likewise, <u>alternate brand names</u> (ABN), or those that have the same formulation or grade, and are manufactured by the same person, the labeling of which contain the same claims and which bear designations identifying the products as the same pesticide, must be registered separately on an annual basis. However, there is no additional fee. For example, Myers Disinfectant Basin, Tub and Tile Cleaner and Myers Disinfectant Bathroom Cleaner are offered for sale. Both products have the same EPA registration number, the same formulation, are manufactured by the same company and make the same claims. In this example, the registrant would register each product separately but pay only \$160.00 total.
- b. <u>Grades:</u> Each grade of a pesticide must be registered <u>separately</u> at a fee of \$160.00 per product per year. Thus, if a particular pesticide is available in different formulations, for example, granular and dust, then <u>each</u> formulation must be registered separately at a fee of \$160.00 per product. Grade or formulation would also refer to the fragrance of a product. If a particular pesticide is available in different fragrances, for example, original scent and lemon scent, these are considered different grades (formulations) and must be registered separately at a fee of \$160.00 per product.
 - [Please Note: There is one exception to the registration requirements for different grades. Pursuant to Section 2 VAC 20-30-10, Virginia Administrative Code, the addition of pigment solely for the color shall not constitute a change in the formulation such as to constitute a new grade requiring registration and a separate fee. As an example, if antifoulant paint were available in red, green, and blue, each color paint product would be registered separately, however, the total fee would be only \$160.00. There would be no additional fee for different pigments.]
- 3. <u>Listing Products</u>: List the U.S. EPA registration number (or 25(b) Exempt, if applicable), the product name (alphabetically), indicate if the product is a restricted-use pesticide or RUP (Yes or No), and the fee (indicate \$160.00 or ABN if applicable). An example is shown below.

EPA REGISTRATION NO.	PRODUCT NAME (as it appears on label	RUP (Yes or No)	<u>FEE</u>
1. 1383-85	Myers Disinfectant Basin, Tub and Tile Cleaner – Original Scent	No	\$160.00
2. 1383-85	Myers Disinfectant Basin, Tub and Tile Cleaner – Lemon Scent	No	\$160.00
3. 1383-85	Myers Disinfectant Bathroom Cleaner	No	ABN
		TOTAL FEES REMITTED	\$320.00

- 4. <u>Submission of Application Packet</u>: Submit one completed copy of this application form. Enclose a label and a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) for each product listed in the application. We encourage registrants to submit all product labels and MSDS in a printable format on compact disc (CD) in jewel box. Please label the CD to include registrant name, year and directory of contents. You may include as many brands or grades as space permits. If additional space is required, please complete an additional application form. Type or print the application clearly in ink.
- 5. <u>Certificate for Pesticide Registrations</u>: A Certificate listing products registered will be mailed to all registrants verifying the processing of their application for new pesticide product registration.
- 6. **Product Renewals**: All pesticide product registrations expire on December 31 each year. Applications for renewal of currently registered pesticides are mailed annually to registrants.

For assistance in completing this application, please contact Reba Gilliam at 804-786-1025 or rgilliam@vdacs.state.va.us.

APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATE

Mailing Address: **Physical Location**:

Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services P. O. Box 526 Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526

VDACS/Office of Pesticide Services 1100 Bank St., Room 401-D Richmond, Virginia 23219

VDACS-07210

07/00

a COMMERCIAL PESTICIDI and the State of	1-249.57 of the Virginia Pestici E APPLICATOR under the Re The two-yea oid payment of a 20% late fee	eciprocal Agreement bet ar certificate expires on J	ween the Commonwea	alth of Virginia
	\$70.00 (ALL FEES ARE NON other required forms to the about FROM PAYING FEE.			
Please type or print the foll	owing information:			
Cat.#	<u>Title</u>	Cat.#	<u>Title</u>	
(see reverse side for applic	ator categories)			
	IRED: (check appropriate cl		Gov't Employee	
Social Security #:		COUNTY:		
APPLICANT'S NAME:				
MAILING ADDRESS:	(Last)	(First)	(M.I.)	
CITY:	(Street or RFD)	STATE:	ZIP CODE:	
EMPLOYED BY:				
VA. PESTICIDE BUSINESS	LICENSE #:	BUSINESS PH	HONE #:	
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	(Street or RFD)		(City, State, Zip)	
NAME AND TITLE OF SLIPE	RVISOR:			
I certify that I have been train	ed in the specific skills neces ws, rules and regulations gove	sary to properly apply p	esticides in the perform	nance of my job,
(Signature of Applicant)			Date:	
Date of Isssue			AMOUNT TO REMIT VDACS ACCT:	756-09-02656

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CATEGORIES

- requires concurrent certification in category 1-A
- ** excluding fumigation
- *** certification also required in 1 or more appropriate specific categories

Definitions:

Commercial applicator means any applicator who has completed the requirements as determined by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as provided in the definition of private applicator.

Commercial applicator not for hire means any commercial applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or his employer. This definition shall also apply to governmental employees who use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the performance of their official duties.

PESTICIDE REGISTERED TECHNICIAN APPLICATION

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

P. O. Box 526 Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526 1100 Bank St., Room 401-D Richmond, VA 23219

In accordance with Section 3.1-249.52 of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made for CERTIFICATION as a REGISTERED TECHNICIAN.

The two-year non-refundable certification fee is \$ 30.00. Please make check payable to: **Treasurer of Virginia**. Mail application and check to the above address. Federal, State, and Local Government employees are exempt from fee.

Certificates expire on June 30.	□ Go	vernment Employee	□ Non-Government Em	nployee	
Please check the appropriate	boxes below:	E-mail address:			
□ New applicator	□ Retesting (fee waived for first retake)	□ Reinstateme	ent	
Please type or print the follow SOCIAL SECURITY NO.:	_	-			
NAME OF APPLICANT:					
MAILING ADDRESS:	(Last)	(First)	COUNTY:	(M.I.)	
	Street or RFD)				
EMPLOYED BY (Company or a	gency you work for): _				
PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENS	SE NO.:	BUSINE	SS PHONE NO.:		
BUSINESS ADDRESS:			COUNTY:		
CITY:	(Street or RFD)				
NAME OF SUPERVISING COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR T	RAINER :		CERT. NUMBE	:R:	
I certify that I have received at least 40 hours of training in the skills necessary to properly apply pesticides in the performance of my job, and I agree to abide by all the laws, rules and regulations governing pesticide usage.		completed a reverse of the	I certify that this applicant has successfully completed a training course, as outlined on the reverse of this application, specific to the pesticide application requirements of his/her job.		
(Signature of Applicant)		(Signature o	(Signature of Commercial Applicator Trainer)		
DATE :		DATE :			
EOD DEDADEMENTALIGE	ONII N		AMOUNT TO REMIT	Γ: \$30.00	
FOR DEPARTMENT USE Reg Tech Certificate No			VDACS ACCT.	756-09-02437	
Date Keyed:			VDACS-07212	11/01	
Keyed to Database by:			VDAGS-01212	1 1/0 1	

(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TRAINING REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS)

Prior to making application for Registered Technician certification, a prospective applicant must first receive *at least 40 hours of training in the safe and proper application of pesticides*. The training must include the following:

- Must include 20 hours Board-approved training consisting of at the minimum, study and review of all the material contained in the most current edition used in Virginia of the basic pesticide applicator certification training Core manual. (This manual may be obtained from the Virginia Tech Extension Division Distribution Center, 112 Landsdowne Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060 for a nominal fee.)
- 2. 20 hours on-the-job (practical) instruction in the safe and proper handling, mixing, and application of the pesticides normally associated with the technician's job duties under the direct, on-site supervision of a certified commercial applicator, and
- 3. This training must be received during the six month period previous to applying for Registered Technician certification.

Registered Technicians may apply general-use pesticides unsupervised, and restricted-use pesticides only under the direct supervision of a Certified Commercial Applicator.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION

FOR REGISTERED TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION

- Return completed application with payment. (Government employees are fee- exempt.) If you
 meet the above requirements, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the certification
 exam.
- Within 90 days of the date of the Notice of Authorization, report to an approved VDACS or DMV testing location to take the written examination, a 50 question multiple choice test. Computerized exams at the DMV Customer Service Centers are scored as you are taking them, and you will be notified of your score as you complete each exam. Written exams taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide Services in Richmond to be scored.
- 3. If you pass the Registered Technician examination, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) will notify you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 work days. If you take and pass your exam at one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a temporary certificate good for seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by OPS within seven days.